How Does the Fantasy Point System Work in the league?

Fantasy cricket is no newcomer to popularity. It all started in 2001 when a sports channel launched the inventive format amidst great fanfare to do the “impossible” – bring cricket fans closer to the game. The idea not only withstood the test of time but went from strength to strength in subsequent years, doing exactly what it was shaped for. Presently, we have over 60 websites offering fantasy cricket playing opportunities to over 20 million users across every nook and corner of India. Not to mention, the numbers are progressive with each passing day. 

What makes fantasy cricket so lucrative is its format that guarantees an immersive, gripping experience and decent remunerations. The virtual game asks you to step into the shoes of a selector and impress everyone with your cricket wisdom and ability to see beyond the obvious. Simply put, you just log on to a fantasy cricket website, select a playing 11 and anticipate an at-par on-field performance from the selected players. The runs they make, wickets they take or catches, saves and run outs they implement – every action fetches you points.   

The fantasy cricket India website will publish a points tally featuring the winners of the fantasy cricket league at the end of the actual match. If your name figures on top of the list, expect cash rewards, which may be many-many folds of what you pay the website as an entry fee. The long and short of it is, fantasy cricket is a low risk and high return proposition, making it an antithesis of sports betting where returns are good but the risk factor runs deep.  

Fantasy cricket received a shot in the arm when the Indian Premier League (IPL) was unleashed in 2008. IPL and fantasy cricket complemented each other well, opening up a world of opportunities for the everyday fantasy leaguers across India. With fast-paced cricketing action unfolding day in and day out for the entire duration of the IPL, fantasy leaguers had an opportunity to monetize it. Entertainment met earning and the magic happened.  

Brief Overview of the Point System: 

As the 12th IPL season is around the corner and you are considering jumping into the fantasy league IPL bandwagon, understanding the point system is imperative for wise strategies. Read on, as we give you a sneak peek into the point system. However, it’s worth mentioning, cricket is a multi-format game, played as tests, ODIs and T20s and the point system varies with the format. IPL being played in a T20 format, we will be considering only the T20 format here.  

Batting Points: 
Each run scored by your selected batsman will fetch you one point.
The Captain will get 2 points for every run.
The vice-captain gives you 1.5 points for each run. 
If the batsman scores 25 runs, you get 10 points extra.  
On scores of 50, 75, 100 and 125, you get 20, 30, 40 and 50 points additionally. 
A six fetches you 3 points.
A four is worth 2 points.
If the batsman goes without scoring, 10 points will be deducted. 

Bowling Points: 
Every maiden over bowled by your selected bowler is worth 15 points. 
Each dot ball gives you 1 point.
For every wicket taken, you are awarded 25 points.

Fielding Points: 
When any of your team members take a catch, you are entitled to 15 points. 
A stumping or run out attracts 10 points each. 

Bonus Points: 
For 3 or more wickets, expect 25 points. 
Rest assured of 50 points for 5 or more wickets.
7 or more wickets guarantee 100 points.

Extra Points:
25 points are provided for the Man of the Match in each category.